Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

New Haven County Extension Center

305 Skiff Street
North Haven, CT 06473-4451
(203) 407-3161
Fax (203) 407-3176
newhaven@uconn.edu


Directions

Wilbur Cross Parkway Going South:
Take Exit 61, the second exit in the direction of New Haven. Turn right at the end of the ramp onto Whitney Avenue. Travel on Whitney approximately one mile. When you come to a traffic light, turn left onto Skiff Street. The driveway to the Cooperative Extension Center is immediately on your right.

Wilbur Cross Parkway Going North:
Take Exit 61. At the end of the ramp, turn left onto Whitney Avenue. Travel on Whitney approximately one mile. When you come to a traffic light, turn left onto Skiff Street. The drive way to the Cooperative Extension Center is immediately on your right.

From I-91 Going North: Take Exit 5, State Street. At the end of the ramp, continue straight on State Street. Travel approximately four miles. At the traffic light just past Montessi Motors on the left side of the street, turn left onto Skiff Street. Follow Skiff Street approximately two miles, crossing Hartford Turnpike and Ridge Road. The Cooperative Extension Center and the access to the parking lot will be on your left just before Whitney Avenue.

From I-91 Going South: Take Exit 10 onto the Route 10 connector. Go to the end of the connector and turn left onto Whitney Avenue. Travel on Whitney Avenue approximately two miles. When you come to a traffic light, turn left onto Skiff Street. The driveway to the Cooperative Extension Center is immediately on your right.
 

New Haven County Programs

Visit our Food Safety Website!

Home Food Preservation Workshops scheduled for July and August.  Visit this link for brochure and registration information: http://s.uconn.edu/foodpres

Food and Food Safety


A healthy, wholesome and safe food supply is essential to the well-being of Connecticut citizens. Research based information about how food is produced, labeled and distributed can help consumers to make good food choices. Working with farmers, processors, retailers, community groups, and consumers, food safety education and training programs inform about food borne illness, safe food production, sanitation, and safe food handling. Contact Diane Hirsch at diane.hirsch@uconn.edu or 203-407-3163 for food and food safety education and information resources.


Managing Family Money and Other Resources

Making decisions about how to best use your family's resources, such as money, time, skills and knowledge, can be challenging. Our family economics and resource management program provides a variety of workshops: financial literacy for youth and adults, personal finance, sustainable living and balancing work and family. Training for and collaboration with professionals, staff, volunteers youth and community groups and organizations are an important emphasis. Contact Faye Griffiths-Smith at 203.407.3160 or faye.griffiths-smith@uconn.edu.


Expanded Food and Nutrition Program

The Expanded Food and Nutrition Program (EFNEP) is a UConn Extension outreach program for low income, limited resource families with children. EFNEP community educators are specially trained in nutrition education for low-income families and use the most up-to-date, science-based lessons. Participants gain the knowledge and skills they need to control and manage their food and nutrition practices in their homes or in small group settings in community agencies, schools or libraries. Some topics include healthy eating, basic food preparation, food safety, food shopping, and cooking skills, in addition to advocating family fitness through exercise. Visit UConn's EFNEP website at http://s.uconn.edu/efnep.

Master Gardeners

Since 1978, the UConn Extension Master Gardener Program has provided training in horticultural and environmental science to adults, who then pass on their knowledge to Connecticut residents. These enthusiastic volunteers staff the Master Gardener offices in Extension centers and participate in community projects throughout the state. Among their many activities, Master Gardeners volunteer in school and community gardens, work with land trusts and parks, and give talks on gardening and related topics to community groups. The nine-month program begins in early January each year. There will be a Master Gardener class in New Haven County in 2016. The application for the 2016 course will be posted at http://www.mastergardener.uconn.edu in September 2015. For information, call Extension Master Gardener Coordinator Jude Hsiang at 203-407-3167 or email her at judith.hsiang@uconn.edu.

Contacts: New Haven County Extension Center

Linda Castro AFRI 4-H STEM Youth 203-407-3161 linda.castro@uconn.edu
Lorraine Downing Support Staff 203-407-3162 lorraine.downing@uconn.edu
Toni Ellis EFNEP - Nutrition 203-407-3171 toni.ellis@uconn.edu
Faye Griffiths-Smith Family Economics 203-407-3160
Margaret Grillo 4-H STEM Youth 203-407-3158 margaret.grillo@uconn.edu
Diane Wright Hirsch Foods & Food Safety 203-407-3163 diane.hirsch@uconn.edu
Judith Hsiang Master Gardener 203-407-3167 judith.hsiang@uconn.edu
Marlene Kennedy Support Staff 203-407-3161 marlene.kennedy@uconn.edu
Doris Little EFNEP - Nutrition 203-407-3172 doris.little@uconn.edu
Rineicha Otero AFRI 4-H STEM Youth 203-407-3157 rineicha.otero@uconn.edu
Umekia Taylor EFNEP, 4-H FANs 203-407-3169 umekia.taylor@uconn.edu
Zoraida Velazquez EFNEP - Nutrition 203-407-3170 zoraida.velazquez@uconn.edu
Master Gardener Office Master Gardener Program 203-407-3168 newhaven@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264