Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

By teaching young people that science can be fun, we build on a century of rock solid knowledge that early STEM exposure opens doors for kids to explore a host of STEM themes that direct them to think of careers in these fields. 4-H utilizes the power of UConn research and innovation to prepare the next generation of scientists, engineers and technology experts.

4-H Youth Development

The Connecticut 4-H youth program prepares youth to meet the needs of a global economy, while learning new skills, meeting new friends and discovering new things about themselves and the world through UConn Extension’s research-driven programs.

Whatever your interest, 4-H has a place for you. 4-H programs offer youth fun, hands-on learning activities that foster skills and character development in science, citizenship and healthy living. 

4-h Facebook link

Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM)
4-H utilizes the power of UConn research and innovation to prepare the next generation of scientists, engineers and technology experts. Connecticut 4-H improves communities by teaching youth the science and technology behind producing food, caring for the environment and eating healthy. 4-H generates big ideas and opens up opportunities through projects in everything from animal breeding, plant genetics, robotics and coastal marine habitats.

Citizenship
4-H grows responsible citizens by emphasizing the importance of developing passionate, well-informed citizens who are involved in their communities and help to foster positive social change. In 4-H, youth learn about local, state and national government. From an early age, 4-H youth learn to make decisions, work with others, lead their peers and perform community service projects.

Healthy Living
Helping 4-Hers develop attitudes that promote positive long-term healthy behaviors is a critical goal of Connecticut 4-H. Healthy Living activities and projects give youth the tools needed to stay in shape, prepare healthy food and practice good personal hygiene. 4-H programs are designed to stimulate the practical side of a young person’s mind and the creative side.

4-H Makes a Difference!
4-H logo

Contacts: 4-H STEM Youth Development Team

Emily Alger 4-H Youth - Middlesex County 860-345-5218 emily.alger@uconn.edu
Bonnie Burr Volunteer Management 860-486-8944 bonnie.burr@uconn.edu
Linda Castro 4-H FANs IM 203-281-2961 linda.castro@uconn.edu
Marc Cournoyer 4-H Youth - Windham County 860-774-9600 marc.cournoyer@uconn.edu
Jennifer Cushman 4-H Youth - Hartford County 860-570-9074 jennifer.cushman@uconn.edu
Maryann Fusco-Rollins 4-H Youth - Tolland County 860-870-6929 maryann.fusco@uconn.edu
Pamela Gray 4-H Youth - New London County 860-885-2824 pamela.gray@uconn.edu
Margaret Grillo 4-H Youth - New Haven County 203-407-3158 margaret.grillo@uconn.edu
Laura Marek 4-H Youth - Litchfield County 860-626-6240 laura.marek@uconn.edu
Jenifer Nadeau Equine 4-H Program 860-486-4471 jenifer.nadeau@uconn.edu
Umekia Taylor 4-H FANs 203-407-3169 umekia.taylor@uconn.edu
Edith Valiquette 4-H Youth - Fairfield County 203-207-3264 edith.valiquette@uconn.edu
Nancy Wilhelm 4-H Youth Program Coordinator 860-486-4127 nancy.wilhelm@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264