Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Agriculture in Connecticut is a diverse $3.5 billion industry. UConn Extension provides relevant and timely resources to address the complex issues of this industry for food producers, stakeholders and others who need information.

Agriculture & Food Systems Programs:

Agriculture
UConn Extension provides producers and consumers with creative, innovative, timely and objective scientific research and education to enhance the food production and safety practices in the state while satisfying food and fiber needs. Our programs focused on enhancing Connecitcut agriculture include: fruit and vegetable productionsustainable foodsnew farms and farmersConnecticut’s 10% Campaign, food safety, animal production, and the Connecticut Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory.

Aquaculture
Connecticut Sea Grant works toward achieving healthy coastal and marine ecosystems and consequent public benefits by supporting integrated locally and nationally relevant research, outreach and education programs in partnership with stakeholders. Seafood Safety and Shellfish Management are two of our aquaculture programs.

Business
UConn Extension meets the demands of Connecticut’s diverse agricultural industry through several programs. The Farm Risk Management program provides information to improve financial management and reduce risk. The Food Marketing Policy Center conducts research on food and agricultural marketing and related policy question.

Lawn & Garden
The Home and Garden Education Center, our Master Gardener’s and the soil and plant labs at UConn all work together to provide Connecticut citizens and commercial growers with environmentally sustainable answers to horticultural-related queries. Programs are also offered in sustainable landscapes, turfgrass and landscape architecture.

 

Resources:

2015 Price Study of CSAs in Connecticut

Garden Box Assembly Instructions

Safe Gardening Fact Sheet

 Pledge to go 10% Local with the Live Local! App

Contacts: Food Systems Team

Leslie Alexander Master Gardener Program State Coordinator 860-486-6343 leslie.alexander@uconn.edu
Joan Allen Plant Diagnostics 860-486-6740 joan.allen@uconn.edu
Sheila Andrew Dairy Specialist 860-486-0803 sheila.andrew@uconn.edu
Sarah Bailey Jr. Master Gardener/Youth Gardening 860-570-9023 sarah.bailey@uconn.edu
Nancy Balcom Sea Grant, Aquatic Invasive Species 860-405-9107 nancy.balcom@uconn.edu
Candace Bartholomew Pesticide Safety Education 860-570-9067 candace.bartholomew@uconn.edu
Joseph Bonelli Business Planning 860-870-6935 joseph.bonelli@uconn.edu
Jude Boucher Commercial Vegetable Production 860-870-6933 jude.boucher@uconn.edu
Boris Bravo-Ureta Production Economics 860-486-1918 boris.bravoureta@uconn.edu
Sandra Bushmich CT Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Lab 860-486-0846 sandra.bushmich@uconn.edu
Anoushka Concepcion Aquaculture, Seaweed 860-405-9105 anoushka.concepcion@uconn.edu
Mary Concklin Commercial Fruit Crops 860-486-6449 mary.concklin@uconn.edu
German Cutz Urban Agriculture 203-207-3267 german.cutz@uconn.edu
Dennis D'Amico Dairy Foods 860-486-0567 ddamico@uconn.edu
Michael Darre Poultry Specialist 860-486-1008 michael.darre@uconn.edu
Salvatore Frasca Jr. Pathobiology 860-486-1138 salvatore.frasca@uconn.edu
Tessa Getchis Aquaculture, Shellfish Management 860-405-9104 tessa.getchis@uconn.edu
Diane Wright Hirsch Food Safety 203-407-3163 diane.hirsch@uconn.edu
Mazhar Khan Pathobiology 860-486-0228 mazhar.khan@uconn.edu
Jiff Martin Food Systems 860-870-6932 jiff.martin@uconn.edu
Joyce Meader Dairy/Livestock Business Management 860-774-9600 joyce.meader@uconn.edu
Richard Meinert Dairy Nutrient Management, Farm Management 860-626-6240 richard.meinert@uconn.edu
Angie Murdukhayeva Research Assistant - Agricultural Water Security 860-486-7176 angie@uconn.edu
Jenifer Nadeau Equine Specialist 860-486-4471 jenifer.nadeau@uconn.edu
Dawn Pettinelli Soil Science 860-486-4274 dawn.pettinelli@uconn.edu
Leanne Pundt Commercial Greenhouse Production 860-626-6240 leanne.pundt@uconn.edu
Carol Quish Consumer Horticulture 860-486-6271 carol.quish@uconn.edu
Rosa Raudales Greenhouse IPM 860-486-6043 rosa.raudales@uconn.edu
Guillermo Risatti Pathobiology 860-486-6150 guillermo.risatti@uconn.edu
Carl Salsedo Sustainable Landscapes 860-570-9060 carl.salsedo@uconn.edu
Joan Smyth Pathobiology 860-486-0820 joan.smyth@uconn.edu
Stacey Stearns Program Specialist 860-486-9228 stacey.stearns@uconn.edu
Deborah Tyser Soil Science 860-486-4274 deborah.tyser@uconn.edu
Paulo Verardi Pathobiology 860-486-3420 paulo.verardi@uconn.edu
Victoria Wallace Commercial Landscape/Turf 860-885-2826 victoria.wallace@uconn.edu
UConn Extension
University of Connecticut,
College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4036
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4036
Phone: 860-486-9228
Fax: 860-486-0264